Skip to content

One Quarter of One Year

May 16, 2013

After several years months on the road living, loving, laughing with friends old and new, I scored My Great Job as the Manager of the Learning Center at Oakton Community College (OCC). 

I captured the intensity of my first week in a new place, with a new job, and a new way of life via a series of Audioboos (listen to all four if you are so inclined). The final one, “Failed Dog Rescue and Other Last Words,”  recorded on Friday, February 22nd, pretty much sums up my week.

“COME HERE RIGHT NOW!”

“I’ve found my home in higher ed, my new home, and that’s a pretty great feeling.”

Fast forward three months.

This week marks my three month anniversary and the end of my PROBATIONARY PERIOD at Oakton Community College.

Duun Daah Duuh.

Little did they know…

Attribution: Noncommercial Share Alike Some rights reserved by @giulia.forsythe

Attribution: Noncommercial Share Alike Some rights reserved by @giulia.forsythe

Tomorrow, May 17th, also marks my three month anniversary in the Chicagoland area.

I arrived by train from Philadelphia on a beautiful winter morning. Since then, my Chicagoland FEB 2013 adventures have focused on finding locales (easily accessible by walking or public transportation) that I might frequent to tend to my basic needs,  enjoy life as I live it and in the style to which I’m accustom, meet a few new friends, and maybe even make a home.

home

“HOME” (a work in progress)

Journal entry, 5.1.13, 1:42am: There are moments when I see flecks before my eyes and feel a pain in my chest and I worry I’ve not written all I have to say; that’s it not even begun.

Vagueness about home reigns. Listening to The Proclaimers and wondering if Morphine pressed any vinyl. Desiring my own nest. Push and pull. No discomfort leads to stasis. Most important is human connection then place. The favorable niche is favorable to humans first. The points on my map, in all the places, are humans–my touch points. They are my family. My Home.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2013 11:03 pm

    Congrats on still being awesome, whether all over the place or in one place, no matter the place – at home. Love the art in progress, it’s beautiful, just like you.

    • May 17, 2013 1:36 pm

      Thank you Giulia. I can’t wait to get my hands back on that piece. And my arms around you. In a non naughty way, of course. G

Leave a Reply

