Skip to content

social media stalemate

October 25, 2012

Me: You don’t know anything about my most recent adventures?

mae: No. I don’t check Twitter. I don’t use Flickr.

Me: Why not?

mae: WHY DON’T YOU USE FACEBOOK OR INSTAGRAM?! You don’t know anything about my life either.

Me: Those are closed environments. I can’t know what you’re up to without signing-up.

mae: So sign-up.

Me: No. Why don’t you use Twitter?!

mae: I don’t get Twitter.

Me: What’s to get?

mae: WHY DON’T YOU USE FACEBOOK?!

[Repeat. For days. Until we’ve caught-up with each other’s lives face-to-face through conversation AND by displaying to each other our artifacts from our various prefered social media scenarios.]

Me: Facebook looks like it was designed by the rejects from the logo contest for the Fresh Prince.

mae: …

[STALEMATED]

Postscript: You can replace mae with all, I repeat ALL of my oldest friends i.e., those friends I’ve had beginning in 1994. NONE, I repeat none, of them regularly use Twitter or Flickr. Shady.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2012 2:46 pm

    Terrific. Poignant yet amusing. Just as I like it. Oh there are days (daze) where I think I don’t get it! or wonder why bother … Healthy restraint from overindulgence I suppose. Yet here I am reading and enjoying your blog? 🙂

  2. November 14, 2012 12:47 am

    You know… instagram came out w/ profiles for their users, just in the last couple of weeks, I think. You can view Mae’s instagram photos w/out signing up for instagram! There’s probably a way to make the profiles private, but I haven’t looked into it, yet. Here’s mine – lots of bad pics of my dog: http://instagram.com/sabemi7.

    • November 18, 2012 12:39 am

      You know it is just getting too much work to keep up with the nuances of social media and the diligence for privacy vs public sharing. It’s enough to make a guy/girl to just want a cave. Facebook is bad enough- with all the other apps it becomes nuts- I think one needs to find a couple and forget the rest regardless of how cool and powerful they may seem up front.

Leave a Reply

