Skip to content

Fare Ye Well Canadalandia

September 23, 2012

Canada has been very good to me.

Well, my friends here have been good to me.

Well, my friend, Giulia, has been very good to me.  Just look at the love.

I arrived at Giulia’s place in Welland, Ontario on July 29th. Since then I accompanied her to the Ontario e-learning summer institute at University of Ontario Institute for Technology, attended Uplug’d12, did an ole granny tour of Niagra on The Lake, met some great local people, and harrased the local t(w)een and her friend, and the local dog, Stella. I spent hours squatting on the porch alone, with Giulia, with Brendan, with the neighbors, and with the INTERNET FAMOUS and locally (universally) loved, @cogdog. I also took an awesome day trip to Toronto with The Dog.

What a City

Photo by @cogdog.

Holy moly, we’ve had some good times. [Don’t even get me started about the time I spent at Casa Bava with @jimgroom and his family, with @MsArocho and her nuggets, with my DC sisters, and my oldest, surliest friend Vincent aka @OHappy (right). What a great three months!]

Lots of great conversations, good food, wine, women, song, and such around the kitchen table.

I’ve also spent time searching for a new job, working on Chapter 4 of my dissertation, and dorking around online and off e.g., doing some art and cooking. Last week, I began participating in Bryan Jackson‘s Philosophy 12 class from afore mentioned kitchen table at Forsythe Manor via DS106Radio. I posted my rumminations on this blog.

How cool is ALL that?

Pretty cool. Actually, it’s more than cool.

It’s home.

On home

Since being on the road this time, and more so since arriving here, I came to solidly know something I’ve always known:

Home is where my friends reside.

Home is not where my heart is or on some range roaming around with random buffalo. It’s not a place to quest for, nor to plant my roots.  Home is anywhere. It’s everywhere.

Henry David Thoreau, in his piece “Walking” (1862), republished in The Atlantic, provided me some philosophical insight on the matter, and is worth quoting at length. He wrote:

I have met with but one or two persons in the course of my life who understood the art of Walking, that is, of taking walks—who had a genius, so to speak, for sauntering, which word is beautifully derived “from idle people who roved about the country, in the Middle Ages, and asked charity, under pretense of going a la SainteTerre,” to the Holy Land, till the children exclaimed, “There goes aSainte-Terrer,” a Saunterer, a Holy-Lander. They who never go to the Holy Land in their walks, as they pretend, are indeed mere idlers and vagabonds; but they who do go there are saunterers in the good sense, such as I mean. Some, however, would derive the word from sans terre without land or a home, which, therefore, in the good sense, will mean, having no particular home, but equally at home everywhere. For this is the secret of successful sauntering. He who sits still in a house all the time may be the greatest vagrant of all; but the saunterer, in the good sense, is no more vagrant than the meandering river, which is all the while sedulously seeking the shortest course to the sea.

“… without a home [land], in the good sense, will mean, having no particular home, but equally at home everywhere” (emphasis added).

I told you all that to tell you this.

I’m leaving this home in Canadalandia in search of the next place to call home.

The Gypsy Rogue Scholar Motors West Tour

Tuesday, September 26th, I depart Welland, Ontario. I will find friends, comrades, and lovers along the way–and I will find home. I will most certainly miss the comfort and kinship 0f this home that these friends have provided me, but the fear of missing what I had will never stops me from imaging what may come next. Freya Stark, a brave, lady explorer and author of “The Passionate Nomad”, once wrote:

Most people, after accomplishing something, use it over and over again like a gramophone record till it cracks, forgetting that the past is just the stuff with which to make more future.

Fare ye well Canadalandia, I’m off to make more future.

p.s. If for so some strange reason you are at all interested in my life, as I live it openly and online, you can track my progress via

Twitter:  @DrGarcia

Tumblr:  Notes to Self

Flickr: GypsyRogueScholar

Ds106Radio: via @DS106radio (to know who’s broadcasting) and/or our website to listen

Otherwise, see you on the other side of the other side (or at OpenEd12 in Vancouver, Canada). Yes, I’m returning to Canada. Why? Because Canada loves Mexicans. Que Viva!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. onepercentyellow permalink
    September 24, 2012 12:10 pm

    Oh how you have summed up so many of my feelings about this strange gypsy life… it’s a question I’m always facing – where’s home? – well… right now, right here with all I own. Carrying around what is essential of the past to make more future. Wading through the stationary expressions of existence with a certain nostalgia and a certain unease… knowing there’s always the expectation that I will finally fall still somewhere to build a place to call home… but I’m with you… it’s where I am with all of you. Including here.
    Happy travels tomorrow! My feet wander with you, sistah.

  2. September 24, 2012 6:15 pm

    Tu tambien. Buen viaje y nos vemos en la radio! Un abrazote!

  3. September 26, 2012 10:42 am

    It’s true. We do love Mexicans.

  4. October 24, 2012 1:37 pm

    It was so great to meet you! I’m glad to have another Internet friend 🙂

    Your adventures sound amazing. Don’t stop.

    • October 25, 2012 2:54 am

      Heyya Jaymie. Thanks for the note. You are kind. It was a great privilege to meet you and to the other Ontario folks I met during my hack of your conference. Jeez that was a few minutes ago eh. I spent two months in Welland! I’d love to keep moving and visiting friends, contributing to folks lives in strange and hopefully good ways. Alas, I must find employment soon as my savings are almost spent. This doesn’t plague me because I always find adventure in my days and ALWAYS travel for friends. Hope to see you again soon. Maybe at the next Ontario meet-up! G

Leave a Reply

