Skip to content

How many social media horcruxes do you have?

September 6, 2011

My brother Alan aka @cogdog recently blogged “The Vague Line” wherein he problematized what he (myself, and others I’m sure) believe to be a false dichotomy between the “reality” of online and offline friendships.

Alan also succinctly took on the issue of his own on and offline identity. He wrote

… I am ready to drive a stake into the notions of “online” vs “offline” states of being; such differences don’t exist for me anymore- I am one Alan, not some frankenstein sewed together personality, and I float fluidly on the bits and atom states of the world.

The line is so vague, for me it is gone.

I agree fully with brother Alan. I have always felt this way. I am one GNA.

Sometimes I get a little pinch or even burnt for being audacious, critical, or just plain stupid. Most of the time my authenticity is rewarded with trust, loyalty, and respect. Best of all, I attract and maintain relationships with folks who are also striving for congruency within their life spaces and life ways, all the “bits and atom states” as Alan called them.

I like this because it reminds me of Sagan’s words, “We’re made of starstuff. We are a way for the cosmos to know itself.” Sagan refers to us as the little parts and the whole all at once. Even though we are made of bits, our essence is integrated. I told you all that to ask you this:

How much have you dispersed yourself, your identity, maybe even your soul across social media?

How many social media horcruxes have you created?

I’ve wondered for a long minute and am just getting around to asking. Blogging is a justifiable distraction from dissertating, no?  Strike that. Reverse it. 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2011 1:11 pm

    I try to be the same online as offline. I do have the added pressure of being a youth pastor and deacon at my church, but I don’t think I censor myself because of it. When we label ourselves like teacher or youth pastor we tend to compartmentalize ourselves face to face, not just in online spaces. Obviously we are all more than the sum of our labelled parts. BTW I love the horcrux reference. It caused me to pause and reflect…

  2. September 16, 2011 12:43 am

    Social media horcruxes! That’s brilliant. Let’s see:

    Ravenclaw’s Diadem = flickr
    Tom Riddle’s Diary = tumblr
    Hufflepuff’s cup = Pinterest
    Marvolo Gaunt’s Ring = Google+
    Nagini = Facebook
    Slytherin’s Locket = YouTube
    Harry Potter = WordPress.com blog(s)

    I recently dumped LinkedIN, and the world didn’t stop spinning. I’ve also left Tumblr in the past. Flickr is mainly storage – I rarely post anything anymore. I would like to leave FB forever, but my kid is on there. Pinterest is highly addictive. And I like WordPress because it’s super easy to merge older, abandoned or completed projects/blogs with my main home on the web.

  3. August 31, 2015 7:31 pm

    Reblogged this on REFRACTIONS and commented:

    Watched a talk by @paulgordonbrown who makes reference to various metaphors students used to describe their digital selves. Horcruxes were one. That’s pretty neat! The talk was part of the 2015 NASPA Conference. See it via YT: https://youtu.be/J7LOXApAuqw

Trackbacks

  1. Ruminate » Online, Offline, Frankenstein
  2. Permanence Lost

Leave a Reply

