Skip to content

The Making of a Gypsy Rogue Scholar

April 13, 2011

PROLOGUE

In late summer of 2006 I left a wonderful position as the Coordinator of Student Involvement at Seattle Central Community College . I loved my college, position, and the students I had the pleasure to teach and learn with everyday.

Yet, after three years I felt intellectually under-challenged and heard an alarm go off in my head.

The less room you give me, the more space I’ve got. It doesn’t scare me at all. You can’t say no to hope, can’t say no to happiness. It doesn’t scare me at all. I want to be on a mountain-top, with a radio and good batteries, and play a joyous tune and free the human race from suffering. It doesn’t scare me at all. This is an alarm-call. So wake-up, wake-up now. Today has never happened, and it doesn’t frighten me. It doesn’t scare me at all. (Alarm Call, Björk)

I decided to pursue doctoral studies in Educational Psychology at the University of Connecticut in Storrs, CT.

Five years later, I’m rapidly closing-in on the day when I will achieve the goal of completing my dissertation and officially owning the title Dr. GNA Garcia. As the summer, and my dissertation defense approaches, I find myself refracting about what I’ve experienced between the solo drive across country from Seattle to Storrs, and my most recent move to The Blue Shed in Pacific Grove, CA.

Today’s version of my adventure will be told through a few snap shots and a few more words.

Stay tuned.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

