Skip to content

My Maslowian Needs

April 14, 2010

Today I secured a sublet.

Every summer I worry and fret about where I will set up shop for the two months I spend in W. Hartford, CT (where I teach educational psychology to preservice teachers). I find the yearly search and acquisition of a suitable domicile unnerving.  Until today I have been distracted from my dissertation by uncertainty. I anticipated the worst,  living in a van down by the river.

According to humanist psychologist Abraham Maslow, a deficiency in our basic needs i.e., a place to call home, inhibits on our ability to achieve subsequent needs.

bell hooks (1994) described education as the “practice of freedom” intimately linking it to human agency. She believed teachers who quest for self-actualization are “better able to create pedagogical practices that engage students, providing them with ways of knowing that enhance their capacity to live fully and deeply” (p. 22).  I agree with sister hooks.  Accordingly, with my anticipated basic need of shelter meet, I move ahead with preparations for the course and scale my pyramid.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 9:29 am

    Dear Dr. G: I appreciate your humor. And I have a chris farley tidbit for you. Chris grew up in Madison Wisconsin where I now live. A former owner of our house said Chris was a friend of the family and used to come over to the house and *party in the basement!* I think of that every time I go down there.

    • April 15, 2010 8:53 pm

      Hey Paul! Pretty cool. Chris Farley essence in ur house, love it! See u at AERA in Denver! GNA

Leave a Reply

