Skip to content

A Seven Year Itch

March 20, 2014

(Subtitled my on-going, everlasting, #dissertationwoes #year7)

Google Search: “dissertation bootcamp Chicago”
Did not find any local opportunities for non-enrolled students.
Did find PhDCompletion.com a business put together by @DrWCarter

Lots of good resources for the dissertating graduate student including a piece listing six tips geared toward completion. My favorite is:

Focus on one chapter at a time. You don’t need to write in a linear fashion. Start with the chapter that you know you can complete. If you have the choice between a chapter that is 40% complete and one that is 75% complete focus on the one that is nearest to completion. 

Mind at least on the side-lines, plus a great conversation with a fellow PhD-seeking colleague, I concocted a very GNA-centric strategy to get me making small moves toward completion everyday.

It is a personal, dissertation-completion-related challenge related to the investment I make into Twitter.

How about if each day I totaled the number of Tweets I post x 140 characters then devoted at least that much on my dissertation?

For example, yesterday I tweeted eight times (8 x 140 = 1,120 characters). According to a variety of reliable sources such as Yahoo! Answers, 1,000 characters is approximately 250 words which is approximately one page. Therefore, I could challenge myself to write at least a page and a half of new content.

Alternatively, because much of what I have left is editing, formatting, etc. perhaps a time commitment would be better? For example, every 1,000 characters would equate to one hour of time and round-up to the nearest 250 (15 minutes)? Therefore, using yesterday’s data, I could challenge myself to spend one hour and 15 minutes tending to my dissertation.

Maybe if you are active on Twitter or another form of social media, you could devise a similar strategy. What do you think?

And, because the dissertation is always MESEARCH

I’m curious as to how this type of activity could impact my relationship with both tweeting and the friends with whom I communicate via Twitter. Also considering the reverse impact, that of associating tweeting with my dissertation as a character (aka La Libertad) and with working on it as a daily practice.

What do you think about that? Or any of this? And everything else?

Curiously yours,

GNA

p.s. It’s all champagne and potato chips, right?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2014 12:44 am

    Thanks for mentioning my website. Sounds like a plan. Imagine a dissertation 250 characters at a time, I agree 15 min a day can easily turn into 30 & into 45….I always say baby steps are still steps that build confidence that you will walk and eventually run.

  2. Gede Prama permalink
    March 29, 2014 11:44 am

    site is really marvelous. Thank you for sharing and Greetings from Gede Prama :)

  3. May 17, 2014 8:14 pm

    It took me 10 years with a few extensions. Just do it.
    ~ @stardiverr

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,257 other followers

